Monday, Feb. 13, 2006 - 6:07 a.m.

A New "Job Opportunity" For Me!

New Page 1

This morning I got up, checked my email, and normally I just sit on auto pilot with the delete button ridding my in-box of any and all spam.  But for some reason, God only knows why, I stopped on one email to read it.  Now, I knew it was spam before I opened it, but, I just felt compelled to do it.  I'm glad I did.  I got a great laugh out of it.  Here's the text of the email:

Hello. I am Steve Casey, general manager of the international company Le-Trans, and I have a wonderful offer for you.

We render services to companies that have international trade. These services consist of the reception of payments from the clients of the various companies when the client and the company are in the different countries. We save money for the companies by eliminating the expensive bank commission for international transactions. Only the small commissions for transactions between two banks inside one country are paid.

To create representatives in each country is rather problematic and, in some cases, unprofitable. Therefore we invite people to the post of the Financial Courier, which will carry out the following functions: receive money in their bank accounts and further transfer it on to our bank account in other regions. This allows us to save the maximum on percentage basis.

This method of transaction allows us to save the maximum on a percentage basis. It is necessary for you to have an account on which you will receive remittances. Your account should be activated for inter-bank transactions. If you do not have an account, it is necessary for you to open it.

Today we invite you to work with us as a "Financial Courier". The functions of the financial courier is the reception of money clients of our company - and then transferring that money to our representatives.

We pay high percent from each operation - 5%.

To work with us you should meet the following requirements:
Be over the age of 21 and with full capacity to carry out financial operations
Capacity to make a bank withdrawals and transactions
Be very efficient
High accuracy when making calculations
Have a bank account in a bank of USA (Bank of America, Wells Fargo).

It is a fantastic opportunity to earn a great income!
Start to work right now! To start with us you need only to fill out the labour agreement.

Get more details here: http://le-trans.org/careers.php

Thanks for attention.

Yours faithfully,
Steve Casey,
General Manager of Le-Trans

Now, as any rational and logical thinking person would do, I went to their web site.  Honestly, the link works and goes to a real web site.  What this "company" does, even if it IS a real business, I don't think is very difficult to figure out.  It is either some lame attempt to present this organization as legitimate, when in actuality, it is probably some money laundering scheme, or one of those Nigerian scams (which is the MOST likely scenario).  I think these types of scams have been going on long enough that people are now hip to their jive and they are having to come up with more creative ways to scam than the classic, "Hi, I'm the widow of the late *insert official government sounding title here* of Cote d'Ivoire, who was killed in civil unrest 8 years ago..."  And if this web site is the best they can do....  I am just so sorry.  I like their spelling of "Chickago."  Nice touch.  But they did put real effort into it by doing up the web site.  I love the nonchalant verbiage about new employees, "Financial Couriers" as they call them, requiring their own bank accounts into which all this money they are receiving must be deposited.  And if you DON'T have a bank account, you have to open one right away.  Again, nice touch.

And let's see, a search on Network Solutions as to ownership comes up with the registering IP address as being out of Korea, the registering company in California, and a whole bunch of other crap.  Interesting since this web site says they have offices in Amsterdam and "Chickago."  Anyway, I'm glad I went to the the site this morning for a good laugh.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Blue Eyes Cryin' in the Rain" ~ Willie Nelson


Useless Trivia du Jour:  Alright, I have not independently verified this bit of information, but my boss told me this, so I am going by it as if it were true.  Most people remember that Willie Nelson was busted several years ago by the IRS for income tax evasion.  However, according to Mike, he really didn't do anything wrong.  It seems years ago, Willie had organized a concert somewhere in Texas and had originally advertised the price per ticket.  Apparently, most people who attended the concert never paid for their tickets, but because a ticket price was advertised, that indicated that revenue would be generated from those sales.  However, there really was no income as no one bought tickets and this raised a red flag with the IRS. 

I am sure there is much more to the story than this because it was serious enough that his ranch was sold off along with many of his personal possessions.  Like I said, I have not independently verified the veracity of this story, but, it makes for a good one anyway.  Personally, I think its incredibly sad as this man has done MUCH to help save an industry in this country that has seen its share of struggles and lives overturned, that being the backbone of this country, the American farmer.

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007