Sunday, Feb. 26, 2006 - 7:46 p.m.

Faire is coming up soon!

New Page 1

You know, I never really write about Faire in this blog, soooo, why not now.  I was looking back through old entries and stopped on this one from 2003. There's a nice shot there of me first thing in the morning doing the front gate show before the day got too hot, so I look pretty good.  OK, I am actually looking forward to faire this year, even though many people out there are disgruntled by the changes that George has implemented, totally changing the essence and feel of the place.  And I have to agree with them.  Removing the maypole to put a bungee jump "ride," well, it kind of detracts from the atmosphere.  And the reduction in the performance company is irksome as well.  Many patrons this year noted the lack of performers from years' past and there are many talented people out there who were not back this year for one reason or another.  But I enjoy the directing challenge, and I hope that Jeff was pleased enough with my work last year to keep me in my position.  I definitely need a new dress this year.  I love my old maroon one, but, its going on 5 years old now, and its seen better days.  Nina wants to put me in blue, much like my maternity dress, and I am not going to argue that one.  I need a new corset as well.  I weigh almost 20 pounds lighter than when I got pregnant and in the pic that is linked in the entry above.  Its just time.  I also have lots of ideas I want to run by Jeff that he will hopefully like and find useful.  I'm just waiting at this point for him to call our fist production meeting so we can get the ball rolling on getting the year planned out.  Auditions are the 20th and 27th of May, and I should be back from my trip to Jordan by then.  Paul caught a nice picture of me holding Travis during the Christmas weekend.  He looks so cute in his beret and little rennie garb.  Tarik thinks we need to stop playing dress up with him.  My mom says one of these days he is going to be mad at me for putting in this get up.  Hopefully he'll be out often this year as well.  That's my little guy!

Song Virus du Jour:  "The Nighttime is the Right Time" ~ Ray Charles


Useless Trivia du Jour:  I learned listening to Car Talk yesterday that the word "hobo" originated from the post Civil War era.  Confederate soldiers, who tried to return to their former lives as farmers were met with little semblance of their former lives in that many farms were destroyed during the war.  So they took whatever they could find, usually crop implements, and would hop on trains to other towns to find work.  Many times they were carrying hoes with them and came to be known as "hoe boys."  Eventually this was shortened to "hobos."

 

m  kn uuuuuu uuuuukgti888888 ffffffffiiiiijc iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii - Travis just wanted to put in his two cents there.

2 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007