Monday, Nov. 27, 2006 - 12:37 p.m.

Not To Take for Granted

New Page 1

I sit here and say to myself that I am so totally over being pregnant and all of the little aches, pains, discomforts, and sleeplessness that goes along with it, and then I remember/think about friends from faire who just lost a baby in the 7th month of pregnancy, and on Thanksgiving morning.  Unfortunately, it was a freak incident and she (the mother) developed a flesh eating bacterial infection.  No real details have been posted in the various forums as to whether or not the infection was the cause of the baby's death, or the treatment for the infection.  Regardless, doctors were unable to save their unborn son, and I am incredibly saddened at this news, even though it is several days hence.  I am so incredibly lucky....... especially now, as I had to step away from the keyboard for a few moments.  I heard a noise coming from the kitchen area that sounded like water splashing.  Travis somehow managed to climb on top of the breakfast table.  I just found him sitting on top of the breakfast table, having just dumped the cat's water bowl all over the table and floor.   Needless to say Mommy was not amused, and I think he know he f-ed up.  But, he didn't fall off the table onto the wood floor and hurt himself. 

In any event, I am so incredibly lucky in that both of my pregnancies were and have been easy and uneventful, and that my son and son to be are healthy and happy.  I never, NEVER take for granted how blessed we are.  I hope and pray that it continues to be so.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Lady Madonna" ~ The Beatles


Useless Trivia du Jour:  Christmas trivia! 

Pre-Christian Origins of Christmas

Christmas has its origins in several pagan holidays. The celebration known as Saturnalia included the making and giving of small presents (saturnalia et sigillaricia). This holiday was observed over a series of days beginning on December 17 (the birthday of Saturn) and ending on December 25 (the birthday of Sol Invictus, the "unconquered sun"). The combined festivals resulted in an extended winter holiday season. Business was postponed and even slaves feasted. There was drinking, gambling, and singing, and nudity was relatively common. It was the "best of days," according to the poet Catullus.[3]

During the time in which Christianity was spreading throughout the Roman Empire, another similar religion known as Mithraism was also gaining widespread acceptance. The followers of Mithraism worshipped Mithras, a god of Persian origin, who was identified with Sol Invictus. [citation needed] The followers of Mithraism, consequently, adopted the birthday of Sol Invictus as the birthday of Mithras. In 274 AD, due to the popularity of Mithraism, Emperor Aurelian designated December 25 as the festival of Sol Invictus.


Preggo Craving du Jour:  Honestly, if I didn't eat another bite this whole pregnancy, I would be just fine.  Actually, I wouldn't, but the thought of not having to eat is one that I relish.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007