Thursday, Dec. 08, 2005 - 5:17 a.m.

We'll just pick up here...

Damn! Guess I should update more often, eh? I'm here, just really, REALLY busy. Now I'm thinking to heck with trying to fill in the blanks of the last year. Suffice it to say baby making went off without a hitch. My little boy is the CUTEST, sweetest thing and he turned one year old on Thanksgiving. I get that whole mother love thing now. I mean, REALLY get it. I am doing this all by myself for now until hubby get home from the middle east, which will be, sometime.

OK, maybe I will fill in a few details just for sympathy. I am out of the house every day by 6:30 to take him to his grandmother's for the day (free day care), then turn around and head back into town to go to work. Work til 5:30, 6:00, then head back out to pick up the kiddo, then turn around to go back home. Did I mention MIL lives in the opposite direction of my job? I get home around 7:30 every night. Feed the kiddo, feed the fur babies, change clothes and maybe feed myself if I am not too wiped, then get in bed around 9:30. Get up the next day and do it all over again. I have no social life AT ALL.

I did participate at Ren Fest this year though, as assistant director and then as part of the performance company when one of the performers had to bow out when she got a job with FEMA and had to go to Mississippi after Hurricane Katrina. So that was fun. Kiddo stayed with MIL. Now that's over and my only adult contact is with those with whom I work, if you can call them adults. Maybe in physical stature they are, but in terms of maturity.... I might as well be back in junior high. I'm not going to sugar coat it. I hate working with women.

Now the holidays are upon us and I am feeing the stress. The stress of having to get all of the shopping done, and the stress of whether or not to put up any decorations because honestly, I really don't know when I would have time to do it.

I tried to quit my job about two months ago when I just couldn't stand it anymore (the bitchy and catty women I work with) but my boss wouldn't "let" me. He told to just ignore them and the only person around there that I had to please was him. That's nice and all, but it still doesn't make me feel good about going into a place everyday where your co-workers could care less about you.

Point-you are walking into the building one day during lunch and they are sitting in the kitchen eating lunch. In the meantime, your hubby in Amman, Jordan calls to tell you that three bombs have just gone off at three hotels in the city and one of them is at the hotel where your father in law lives (the Hyatt). You are very obviouly upset and just mention to everyone in the room what has happened. Your FIL is OK, but it is terrifying nonetheless since you are getting on a plane in less than two weeks to go visit Amman for Thanksgiving. Not once does anyone ask if anyone is OK, ask for any details or even express anything resembling any concern. Nor do they ask upon your return if everything was OK. Nor do they thank you for the souveniers you bring back for them from your trip. Nice. High class bunch. I am so lucky to be working with these people.

Song virus du jour: Willy Wonkka ~ Danny Elfman

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007