Friday, Dec. 09, 2005 - 5:38 a.m.

Its brass Balls Cold!

Finally, some weather worthy of December! Its right around freezing, or might even be below freezing this morning. Yesterday they couldn't get the heater in the building working so I sat there wrapped in layers trying to keep warm. Its either no working ac in the summer, and 90 degrees in the office (no exagerration) or freezing. At one point, someone went out to run errands and I asked them to pick up some socks for me because my toes were froze. Boy those socks were comfy.

At least one of my co-workers was out yesterday and that really changes the mood in the office. I don't feel like Ms. Ostracized when she is out. I LOVED my job before I went on maternity leave. Then when I came back, everything had changed. The woman they had filling in for me while I was out, they hired to be the assistant to one of the other partners, and then she just kind of took over the place. I hate that she doesn't have to answer anyone's phone. Why this is, since she sits right between two attorneys is beyond me. And I have to answer two attorneys' phones, one of whom is someone she sits 5 feet from, AND have to answer all the miscellaneous calls that come in and then forward around. All calls are initially answered by the receptionist at the main switchboard. Why they can't do away with the main switchboard is beyond me, but, I don't run the place. So I get interrupted umpteen million times a day, and never seem to really get anything done. And if my boss tells me NOT to answer the phone, then the other guy doesn't get HIS calls. Its whack. People are perfectly capable of answering their own phones, or not if they so choose. Its an antiquated phone system dating back to the mid 80's and PBX systems are not cheap. So to replace the phone system in the building would cost an arm and a leg. Its a weird situation because the building is small, housing about 20 attorneys. It used to be one firm. Richard "Racehorse" Haynes, a famous defense attorney, his parterns and associates. Then they broke up that firm and most of the attorneys created their own boutique firms and partnerships with other attorneys but stayed in the building. So we have 10 different firms in the building all using the same phone system. To call another firm, I just dial their extention.

My MIL is sick today so I have to take the kiddo to the office with me. I am lucky they don't mind at work. People bring their kids in all the time. My only issue today is that I have alot to do, and I know Travis is going to get cranky having to be cooped up and no where to crawl around and let loose some energy. I would hold him, but he LOVES the computer and takes every opportunity to bang on the keyboard. Maybe I can put some boxes together to create some sort of corral so he can move around. But then again, I don't really have any room where I sit where I can do that. My boss's office is freaking huge, but, I don't think he'd really want the baby in there. Luckily, there are people in the building who may be able to take him off my hands for a little while so I can get some work done. But I am glad to have him with me today nonetheless. I hardly ever get to see him and spend time with him. I'll get to the "working mommy guilt syndrome" in another post.

Song virus du jour: "Let it Snow" ~ Dean Martin

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007