Monday, Feb. 06, 2006 - 5:52 a.m.

The Monday After

New Page 1

First off, yea Steelers, once the arch nemesis of the beloved Houston Oilers, we have all gotten over that as it has been over 20 years since we were rivals.� But, I don't really care about the game.� Its the commercials I like to see, but I was too busy running around playing hostess to really see many of them.� Fed Ex's commercial was hilarious, with the cavemen and the dinosaurs.

OK, on to the important issues of the day.� I never heard from Mike over the weekend which means a) he never went into the office over the weekend and therefore did not receive my resignation letter, or b) he did go in, got my letter, and just never called me.� So this morning I am feeling all kinds of anxiety and anticipation.� I know he is going to be maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.� However, my departure should not come as a surprise to him, and he WILL get over it and understand.� I just hope I don't have to stay any longer than a month with him trying to find someone to replace me and get them trained.� I left it open ended offering to stay until such can be accomplished.� I also offered to come in and work temp while people were out on vacation or if extra help is ever needed on projects.� Hopefully this will soften the blow.� Attorneys really, REALLY rely on their assistants and usually when an attorney moves or changes firms, he takes his assistant with him.� Its common practice and I have done it before.� But sometimes you just have to let go.� I have days where I feel that I really don't do my job very well, and since having the baby, my memory is not like it used to be, in that I tend to forget things that happened only a few days before.� Why I can remember people's names though, and he can't, is still a mystery to me.

And no doubt, when the news of my impending departure spreads to all in the firm, my co-workers will not display one iota of disappointment regarding this development.� There are only 11 of us who work there, so it shouldn't take long.� I talked to my mom about it yesterday and told her of my lack of relationship with my co-workers and their perceptions and behavior towards me.� She is an HR manager with Dallas Community College and I had never discussed this with her before.� She was of the opinion that they act this way toward me because they perceive me as being afforded special treatment from the couple of times I have been able to take two week vacations to visit Tarik overseas.� Those being the one I took only a month after I started there, which was already bought and paid for before I ever went to work there, and the second one being only a month after I came back from maternity leave.� Granted, and I doubt they know this, none of that time was paid, neither was my maternity leave paid.� And because of my situation, I guess I kind of took it for granted that people would be understanding and not be hyper critical of my time off.��

I did not take one single day off either due to sickness or other reasons between my trip to the Bahamas in April and my trip to Jordan over Thanksgiving.� Hurricane Rita evacuation I don't count as time off because the office was officially closed at noon the day I left.� I have come in late a few mornings so I could take Travis to his doctors' appointments.� But I have also not gone with him on a few appointments as well and my mother in law has taken him in to ensure I was not taking too much time off.� And now I am beginning to wonder if Mike said something to the attorney the 8:00 to 5:00, oh excuse me, 8:00 to 5:15, assistant works for about her special arrangement.� I have no problem whatsoever with her working those hours.� My issue is with me and my situation.� When I first went back to work after maternity leave I asked for those hours and was refused.� So I was a little upset I suppose that someone was afforded that opportunity later, but only because I was denied it earlier.����

But I won't have to worry about it much longer.� I will be much happier, my stomach will HOPEFULLY stop hurting soon, I can get some decent sleep, my anxiety level will go way down, and I will be a healthier person.� All of this goes without saying that I will now be able to be a better mother to my son.


Song Virus du Jour:� "Norwegian Wood" ~ The Beatles


Useless Trivia du Jour:� A web site that I have bookmarked under "People With Too Much Time on Their Hands,"� Ugly Dress.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007