Saturday, Jun. 17, 2006 - 6:38 a.m.

Why are Kids so Smart?

New Page 1

Wow, I never realized my capacity for composing thoughtful, meaningful journal entries was as bad as it is.� Chalk it all up to the sponge inside soaking up all of my brain nutrition and energies and will to do anything other then sit around on the couch watching TV and eating mass quantities of Cheese Itz, which are quite tasty btw, when I am not chasing down the other sponge living quite carefree under this roof, and keeping him from getting into something potentially deadly, like the dishwasher, where there are knives.� Dirty knives at that.��

I think now that every single door, drawer, or secret compartment that he has figured out how to break into, has now been taped shut with masking tape, or held closed with some kind of rubber band, or bungee cord.� I tried to put child proof latches on the drawer with the steak knives, but after an hour, I still couldn't get one screw screwed in.� So screw it.� The knives have been moved to the very back of the drawer and barricaded by other utensils less injury inflicting, and the only thing he seems to be able to drag out of it are his little plastic fork and spoons.��

Time out was had twice yesterday for getting into the dishwasher, and that little (I want to say litter fucker but that would not be nice), that little booger....� I swear.� I caught him in the dishwasher once.� He got a scolding and told he would go into time out if I caught him again.� A little while later, I noticed dangerous quiet, so I went to check.� Oh, he was in there, but as soon as he heard me coming, closed it and tried to run away giggling like he hadn't been doing anything wrong.� He had the most pleased with himself look on his face.� He got scolded and sent to time out.� A bit later, same thing.� The kid is learning to be sneaky!!!� Imma no sure I like-a dat.� And here's is something kinda sad.� He will walk himself to time out and sit down.� All I have to do is tell him to go.� Tarik thinks its sad and pathetic and some kind of contrition.� I call it discipline!� He is learning!� The kid isn't being beaten, he's learning who's boss and learning his boundaries.�� Don't think for a second though, that he doesn't have Mommy's heart all wound up tighter than a spring around his tiny little finger.� He probably gets away with WAY more than he should.� And honestly, when he gets upset, and sticks his lower lip out right before he cries, its all I can do to keep from giggling, because its so cute.


Song Virus du Jour:�� "I'm Alive" ~ Electric Light Orchestra, from the Xanadu Soundtrack


Useless Trivia du Jour:� My brain is empty now, after making a concerted effort to compose a thoughtful, entertaining journal entry.� I have no UTDJ.�� My comments section is open for UTDJ submissions.� Maybe I'll chose a winner and maybe that person will get a prize.� OH!� What if I make it a weekly feature!� Say on Wednesdays, I take submissions for Useless Trivia du Jour and pick a winner each week.� I could conceivably come up with some sort of prize that would not put me in the poor house.� OK, seeing as its Saturday, contest will actually start this coming Wednesday.� But I still need submissions for today.

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007