Sunday, Sept. 03, 2006 - 10:04 a.m.

Fucking Rip Off Artists

New Page 1

I have to complain about this or it will continue to drive me nuts.

Our garage sale yesterday was a success and we managed to sell about three-fourths of what we had for sale.  I am not complaining about that, although for all the stuff we did sell, you would think we would have made more than $300.  Oh well.  Here's the reason WHY we didn't, and I know, this is my own freaking fault.  Let me preface this with a question, what gives someone the right to go to someone's garage sale, demand to pay a third or less of what is being asked on the tag, then get offended as if they are being ripped off when the seller is holding firm to a fair price?  We had this woman show up yesterday, no less than THREE times to buy stuff, and each time she would try to talk us down to about a third or less of what we were asking, and when we would not meet her unreasonable demands, she would get into a huff as if we were trying to rip HER off.  Don't get me wrong.  I am all for going to garage sales and negotiating the marked price on things, but, I am also aware that people are trying to make money off of their garage sales and that a fair price should be a fair price for BOTH parties.  Take for instance the bath towels I had for sale.  Towels were $1 each, hand towels fifty cents each and washcloths were 4 for a dollar.  She wanted to buy about 10 full sized towels, about 4 or 5 hand towels and about 4 or 5 wash cloths, along with three pairs of BRAND NEW shoes, and several bottles of full sized cologne, although a couple of those were only half full.  Had full price been paid for all of these items it would have come out to around 30 bucks.  She wanted to pay 10 bucks for all of it and DEMANDED to know WHY I wouldn't meet her demands and treated me like I was being unreasonable by acting offended and being rude.  She did this several times, and each time she offered me a price for something, which was of course WAY too low and I would say no, she would give me this disgusted look and say "Why?" in a very offended tone.  One time she wanted to know how much a bottle of cologne cost (and she had asked about it several times) and while she was asking, stood there and picked the price sticker off right in front of me!  I said to her, "Well, what does the price tag that you just picked off that bottle say it costs?"  And she of course acted like she didn't know what I was talking about.  The first time she was there I should have asked her to leave because at one point my girlfriend who was helping me out got the impression that she and another woman were there to steal and they were bothering me as much as they were to distract me so they could rip me off.  I finally just sold her the stuff she wanted at a price unfair to me just to get rid of her.  But she came back twice more.  When she picked up a t-shit that was a "dressy" t-shirt and it was marked a dollar, she offered to pay twenty cents for it.  When we told her fifty cents, she got disgusted and threw it on the ground.  Damn, this is really bothering me.  I should have asked her to leave the first time she came around because I think she succeeded in doing what she set out to do, and that was to rip ME off.  I didn't have to sell anything to her, but I wanted her to go the fuck away.  And maybe this is a factor and maybe its not, but, I believe she is Nigerian and, well, Nigerians just don't have the best reputation for conducting business, and if fact, are from a culture that encourages fraud.  And here's a kicker, she lives down the street.  I just hope I don't see her again.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Moving in Stereo"  ~ The Cars (I've been on a serious Cars binge the last week or so)


Useless Trivia du Jour:  The color orange occurs between red and yellow in the visible spectrum at a wavelength of about 585�620 nanometers.


Preggo Craving du Jour:  Guacamole

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007